To the Phenomenal Women

Dear Mom,

 

I couldn’t feel my feet resting on the corridors of the hospital when I heard you are ill. Well it’s the matter of feeling every son has towards his mother. I hope and pray to Gods  present in the world and in the outer space to make you well soon. I am sure I would see you gladly waving a goodbye whenever I go for my workplace sooner.

 

But as I was thinking whether I like all the so called dominant society of the world, the male population have done much prejudice in my own home itself. You must be wondering what thoughts I might be going to share through this letter. But it was a life changing moment for me when you were not in the home and father was there along with sister in the hospital to look after you.

 

Life is harder, when you don’t have extra hand lending help in all your works. Like me every son would have been dependent on their and parents for most of the life times and then comes the wife who share most of the life with men. Women play an important role in men’s life, which is indelible be it is friends, family relations, work colleagues, etc.,

 

The hard truth hit me when I woke up to find father and sister where there in the hospital to look after you and I have to do everything on my own. Well, now as you may think I am well grown with flying colors of graduate education with a well high profile job and leading a happy life with my family, but to wake in the morning to do all the household jobs myself made my mind go berserk.

 

I was’t good at cooking my own food, so i was pushed to eat the bland food that I made with my mind restricting the thoughts of wasting the food which you have taught me early in my childhood days. I was thinking of my sister who was well versed in cooking palatable dishes like you and I envy, feeling jealous to think she cooks better. But the blame is on me, since I never showed any interest in cooking the dishes nor helping you in the kitchen. The cricket matches I used to play in the hot sun or the TV programme which I used to watch whenever you were cooking ad the thought that learning cooking was not a men’s job were the reasons I didn’t know to make good now. I regret it very much,

 

The next arduous thing is washing the clothes and making them to dry in the terrace. I wasn’t patient enough to let the machine dry fully the clothes and the unusual thing of lifting a bucket full of clothes just washed is itself an thing felt like Edmund Hillary climbing the Mount Everest. It wasn’t a shiny day either and I thought the sun too betrayed and mocked me of the ignorance I was in. I never have helped while in a laundry nor carry the bucket full of washed cloths to the terrace whenever you were thinking of a help. God how would have you felt that if you had my hand helping, you would have felt more happier than the day when I told you that I got my first month salary.

 

Next comes the washing of the dishes, cleaning the rooms and keeping food for the pet dog, ironing the clothes, going to the market for groceries. The list is too long for a youth like me or for the others, but now I think how happy would the women have felt if their children or their husband would have shared a little of their day to day household chores.

 

Why parents (including father) never insisted that I (son) learn the household chores rather than insisting sister (daughter) to learn all the household chores ?

Why everyone thinks women must do all the household chores ? Why isn’t men interested in doing it ?

The answer lies within the thoughts of men hiding deep inside the abyss of their hearts. It is only for them to find out and become the Roald Amudsen of their own heart like I founded mine. Women are also human beings just like men. They dedicate their lives for the enrichment of their families all their lives but men doesn’t. (Just think what I meant to say.)

 

You are the one of the wonder women who gave the ultimate gift  to me, my birth and the breath to lead a human life in this giant world. You are phenomenal in your ways as I cannot think of a days staying in home doing all the household chores (Don’t misunderstand me here.) But you never hesitated doing all these things as you enjoyed seeing me and sister growing up and being the persons we are. You are the phenomenal part that molded us in our respective lives.

 

So when you return from the hospital you would have found this long letter of mine. But I didn’t conclude the letter yet. (Come On Mom, I am your son, please bear with me let me finish this soon and you can take rest after understanding my feelings.)

 

 

Hereafter I will share whatever work I could do to minimize your work in the household and I promise that we as a family will all work in preparing the lunch in Sunday’s rather than me sitting to watch some bland tv programmes. Let coming week Sunday’s lunch brim with pleasant smell along with family love. We all can share our week’s busy works and chit chat for a long time and make ourselves happy.

 

P.S, Please teach me cooking by the way, I haven’t been able to cook on my own.

 

Loving Son,

*****.

 

As I finish this letter and browse the internet I found a rather compelling quote to share with all of you,

 

“Women have served all these centuries as looking glasses possessing the magic and delicious power of reflecting the figure of a man at twice its natural size.” — Virginia Woolf

“How important it is for us to recognize and celebrate our heroes and she-roes!” — Maya Angelou, African American Poet

 “Men and boys, we show our manhood through the way we treat our women. Our wives, our sisters, our mothers.” — Archbishop Desmond Tutu

 

 

I am joining the Ariel #ShareTheLoad campaign at BlogAdda and blogging about the prejudice related to household chores being passed on to the next generation.

 

 

Love,

Jonty.

 

(This post won the #Ariel #ShareTheLoad activity, which aimed at blogging to stop the gender prejudices being passed on to the next generation conducted by Blogadda. Thank You Blogadda. You can check the other winners here http://blog.blogadda.com/2016/04/15/winner-announcement-sharethe-load-activity)

Leave a Reply

